Cookies and Privacy Information for Xythos Filer

Date Published:
Versions: 1.0 and higher

Xythos Filer makes use of the following cookies and related technologies for the described purposes below. These disclosures are made consistent with Blackboard privacy policies and regulations such as the EU Privacy directive.  For more information visit our Privacy Center at http://www.blackboard.com/privacy/

About Cookies

A cookie is a file issued from a website, Internet based application or Internet delivered content to an end user’s connected device (e.g. web browser, smartphone, etc).  Cookies may be used to uniquely identify a user.  They may be used to track individual preferences and other information about a web user. Blackboard products use this technology to provide secure learning experiences, track usage and manage application performance.

How this product obtains End User Consent for using private data

After launch, the Xythos Filer application will provide the user with a dialogue box which informs the user about the private information that the product will use.   After the user has reviewed the notice and accepted the information, the user may continue to use the software product. The user may not use the product without accepting the privacy information.  

Third Party Cookies

A server that a user connects to may require installation of cookies on your computer. These cookies are subject to privacy policies of the issuing site or service.  Organizations using Blackboard products should examine the content provided and determine if this material is consistent with their privacy policies. If you do not agree with the use of cookies as described below, as well as outlined by the applicable organization which controls the cookie, do not connect to that server.

Cached Classification Information

To speed access and ensure proper handling of file operations, copies of classification information may be fully or partially cached in local storage. This information is stored in the application folder under user's profile folder and may remain in the local cache even while the product is not running.

Storage of User Preferences and Personal Information

Users Preferences and Personal Information Stored Locally on your Computer or Terminal Device

This application stores user preferences and/or personal information on the terminal device or computer where this product is installed.

Item Description Potential for Disclosure to Other Users Removal of Cookies
Login Information This application stores your credentials in encrypted form in the application folder under user's profile folder. If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer. Uninstall the product.  During the uninstallation choose to delete all preferences and settings.
Session Information This application stores session information (cookies) in memory and (when enabled) logs them in the log files under user’s home folder. If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer. The cookies are removed by exiting the application. To remove log files, choose File->Options from the application menu, click the Advanced Options button, click the View Log Files, in the opened Explorer window select all log files and delete them.
Cached Classification Information This application caches full or partial copies of classification information. This information is stored in the application folder under user's profile folder. If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer. Uninstall the product.  During uninstallation choose to delete all preferences and settings.
Configuration Settings This application stores user-specific settings under user’s home folder. If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer. Uninstall the product.  During the uninstallation choose to delete all preferences and settings.

Requesting Removal of Private Information

To remove stored materials from this service contact your local institution.