Cookies and Privacy Information for Blackboard Drive

Date Published:
Versions: 1.5 SP1 and higher, Win and Mac platforms

Blackboard Drive makes use of the following cookies and related technologies for the described purposes below. These disclosures are made consistent with Blackboard privacy policies and regulations such as the EU Privacy directive.  For more information visit our Privacy Center at http://www.blackboard.com/privacy/

About Cookies

A cookie is a file issued from a website, Internet based application or Internet delivered content to an end user’s connected device (e.g. web browser, smartphone, etc).  Cookies may be used to uniquely identify a use and they may be used to track individual preferences and other information about a web user. Blackboard products use this technology to provide secure learning experiences, track usage and manage application performance.

How this product obtains End User Consent for using private data

After launch, the Blackboard Drive application will provide the user with a dialogue box which informs the user about the private information that the product will use.   After the user has reviewed the notice and accepted the information, the user may continue to use the software product. The user may not use the product without accepting the privacy information.  

Third Party Cookies

A server that a user connects to may require installation of cookies on your computer. These cookies are subject to privacy policies of the issuing site or service.  Organizations using Blackboard products should examine the content provided and determine if this material is consistent with their privacy policies. If you do not agree with the use of cookies as described below, as well as outlined by the applicable organization which controls the cookie, do not connect to that server.

Cached Files and Folders

To speed access and ensure proper handling of file operations, copies of server files and folders may be fully or partially cached in local storage. By default, this information is stored in a cache folder under user's profile folder, but the actual location can be changed by a system administrator.  Depending on the product configuration settings, this information may remain in the local cache even while the product is not running.

Storage of User Preferences and Personal Information

Users Preferences and Personal Information Stored Locally on your Computer or Terminal Device

This application stores user preferences and/or personal information on the terminal device or computer where this product is installed.

ItemDescriptionPotential for Disclosure to Other UsersRemoval of Cookies
Login InformationDepending on configuration settings, this application may store your credentials in a platform-specific storage; in Registry on Windows, in Keychain on Mac.  Passwords are encrypted.If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer.All platforms: Uninstall the product, during uninstallation choose to delete all information.

 

Mac: you can also remove your credentials in Keychain

Session InformationThis application stores session information (cookies) in memory and (when enabled) logs them into the diagnostic log files under user’s home folder.If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer.The cookies are removed by unmounting all volumes and exiting the application. The log files can be removed by clicking the Clear Logs button under the Preferences tab of the main application window.
Cached Files and FoldersThis application caches full or partial copies of server files and folders. The cache is located under user’s home folder by default, but the location may be changed by a system administrator.If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer.Under the Preferences tab of the main application window, click the Clear Cache button, or uninstall the product, choosing to delete cached files and folders during the uninstallation.
Configuration SettingsThis application stores user-specific settings under user’s home folder.If you leave the terminal device without logging out of the operating system account, this information could be used by other users of the same terminal device or computer.Uninstall the product, choosing to delete all preferences and settings during the uninstallation.

Users Preferences and Personal Information Stored On the Remote Server Supporting this Application

ItemDescriptionPotential for DisclosureOptions
Mass Configuration DataAdministrator can configure the application to get default configuration (e.g. pre-defined volumes) from a remote configuration server.The configuration may contain information like server URL, user credentials or other settings, that may be visible by other users, that have access to the configuration server.Do not use remote configuration, deploy pre-configured installation package.

Requesting Removal of Private Information

To remove stored materials from this service contact your local institution.